Tue, 25 Jun 2019

DAVAO CITY, Dec. 12 (PIA)- The short film "Pulangui" by Bagane Fiola won the Best Film Award of the 16th Mindanao Film Festival held at the awards night on Monday, Dec. 10 at Taboan, Matina Town Square, here.

The film about two brothers separated by war and reunited by their faith to Allah was shot in Maguindanao and supported by the Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process (OPAPP). It was a participating entry to this year's ABS-CBN Cinema One Originals Film Festival.

Keisha Halili, Pulangui producer thanked OPPAP for their support in making the film. "They believe in our interpretation on how peace should be and they supported to give that interpretation voice in the cinema," Halili said.

Presenting the Best Film Award was Film Development Council of the Philippine Chair Liza Dino-Seguerra who also announced that FDCP will be collaborating with the Mindanao Film Festival in conducting a film lab next year where four short films will be chosen which will receive a P100,000 grant. The winning film among the four shorts will be given a production grant of one-million pesos to shoot a full-length feature.

The FDCP also announced that the winner of the best film will fly to Manila for the Film Industry Conference next year. Flights, accommodations will be shouldered by the FDCP, they will also have the chance to meet international film mentors.

Meanwhile the other awardees of the Mindanao Film Festival are; Best Original Song- Mangarap Ka of "Dante the Musicale", Best Musical Score- Noi Narciso "Wala'y Nidanguynguy", Best Sound0 Willie Apa Jr. "Pulangui", Best Production Design- Rodel Hilado "Rufyla", Best Editing- Genesis Godwino and Yen Morales "Talang"

Best Cinematography award went to Daniel Clark Cabantan of "Plastic Mirror", Best Animated Film was "Chase", Best Student Film was "Midnight Epiphany", Best Documentary was "Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang", Best Screenplay- Rosette D. Caoile for "Chase."

Gabriel Doromal of "Midnight Epiphany" was named as Best Actor while Mareal Anne Naquin of Miya won as Best Actress. Jewel Maranan won as Best Director for her work in "Sa Palad ng Dantaong Kulang."

Special Jury Commendation on Visual Effects went to "3021" while the Special Jury Prize was given to "Plastic Mirror." Kapitan Ele won Best Shoutout while Box Office champion was the short film "Tinik." Box Office Runner-up was "I Surrender."

The jurors for the 16th Mindanao Film Festival are filmmakers Benjie Garcia and Tim Rone Villanueva and film and TV actor Mon Confiado. (PIA/RG Alama)

More Tokyo News

Access More

Sign up for The Tokyo News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!